Reviews

Book Review: The Proposal by SE Lynes

Processed with VSCO with  preset

Title: The Proposal

Author: SE Lynes

Genre: Thriller, Psychological Thriller, Mystery

Release Date: September 21, 2018

Blurb:

The first thing you should know, dear reader, is that I am dead…

Teacher Pippa wants a second chance. Recently divorced and unhappy at work, she uproots her life and moves to the countryside, determined to make a fresh start. But Pippa soon realises: your troubles are never far behind.

When Pippa meets blue-eyed Ryan Marks, he is funny and charming. He is haunted by his past – but insists he is a changed man.

He might just be the answer to all of her problems. And Pippa can tell the truth from lies. She’d know if she were in danger. Wouldn’t she?

From Amazon chart bestseller S.E. Lynes, The Proposal is a page-turning and utterly gripping thriller about the lengths we will go to for someone we love. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, The Woman in the Window and The Wife Between Us.

Review:

A psychological thriller about a writer named Pippa, who invited an ex con named Ryan, inside her home, to tell his story and be the inspiration of her new novel.

This started out very strong. I was really hooked from the beginning. I couldn’t put this down because I really wanted to know what will happen next. I had a love/hate feeling towards Pippa as it was not hard to feel sorry for her but also blame her at the same time for the consequences of her actions.

My favorite character would have to be Pippa’s best friend, Marlena. She was the voice of reason in Pippa’s life. She doesn’t sugarcoat things and you could really feel her love and care for her best friend. Unfortunately, they had a fall out and Pippa was left alone to deal with her own problems.

Lots of complex relationships and strong themes were shown in this book (stalking, abuse, suicide, parental neglect, and drug addiction). It got very confusing towards the middle part but the ending blew me away. I would like to keep this spoiler-free so you need to read the book to know how the story ends!

This was a dark, intense, and chilling read. Thanks to NetGalley and Bookouture for providing me a copy of this in exchange for an honest review.

Favorite Quotes:

“And momentous events, be they good or bad, catapult us from our core, leave us floating, weightless, lost. It’s funny how, sometimes, we don’t see their enormity until much later, and yet at other times we predict enormity or momentousness or whatever you want to call it when, actually, it isn’t there.”

“For what it’s worth, I don’t think you should give up your dreams for anyone. I’d hate to see you tied to something. . . or someone. . . just because you thought you had to honour some sort of promise.”

“Sometimes we have to keep love secret. What is it they say? The most romantic love is the one that cannot be.”

Soundtrack: Skippin’ Town by The Drums

Rating: Purple-FullPurple-FullPurple-FullPurple-HalfNo-Star

Buy Links: Goodreads || Amazon || Kobo || Book Depository
What are some of the thriller books included on your TBR this month? Let me know in the comments!

15193229About the Author:

Twitter || Instagram || Facebook

S E Lynes is the Amazon best selling author of psychological thrillers, VALENTINA, MOTHER, THE PACT and THE PROPOSAL.
After graduating from Leeds University, S E Lynes lived in London before moving to Aberdeen where she worked as a programme producer at the BBC before moving with her husband, Paul, and two young children to Rome.
In Rome, she began to write while her children attended nursery. After the birth of her third child and upon her return to the UK, she gained an MA in Creative Writing from Kingston University.
She now combines writing with lecturing at Richmond Adult Community College and bringing up her three children. She has also published two children’s books in Italy.

Advertisements

9 thoughts on “Book Review: The Proposal by SE Lynes

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s